Kay Rasmussen Appointed to Florida Defense Support Task Force

Created on September 13, 2022

Okaloosa County, Fla.  – One Okaloosa EDC is pleased to announce that Representative Chris Sprowls, Florida Speaker of the House, has appointed Kay Rasmussen, Associate Director, One Okaloosa EDC, to the Florida Defense Support Task Force for a four year term of service.

“I am greatly honored to be appointed by Speaker Sprowls to serve on the Florida Defense Support Task Force, and I sincerely appreciate Representative Patt Maney’s support throughout this process.  I am eager to engage with my fellow Task Force members in the important work of supporting Florida’s military installations, ranges and missions,” said Rasmussen.
A twenty-year veteran of the economic development profession, Kay earned the designation of a Certified Economic Developer from the International Economic Development Council in 2013.  An accomplished military advocate and daughter of a USAF fighter pilot, Ms. Rasmussen also serves as Manager of One Okaloosa’s tri-county Defense Support Initiatives (DSI) committee and is a 2021 alumna of the National Security Forum, Air War College, at Maxwell Air Force Base in Montgomery, Alabama.
“Over the years, Kay has developed a vast knowledge of northwest Florida’s military assets while cultivating meaningful relationships with our senior military leaders.  Serving on the Florida Defense Task Force is a natural fit for her, and I am confident that her advocacy for our region’s military needs will translate to more good news for our area,” said Nathan Sparks, Executive Director, One Okaloosa EDC. 
Created in 2011 by Florida Statute 288.987, the Florida Defense Support Task Force makes recommendations to preserve, protect and enhance Florida’s military installations, to support and grow the defense industry in Florida, and to improve the state’s support for education, health care, employment, and family programs for service members, families, veterans and businesses that bring military-related jobs to the state.  Previous Okaloosa County-based members of the Florida Defense Support Task Force include Dr. David Goetsch, Northwest Florida State College; J.R. McDonald, Lockheed Martin Corporation; then Florida District 4 Representative Matt Gaetz, then Florida District 4 Representative Mel Ponder, and Judge Patt Maney.  In addition, former One Okaloosa EDC Chairman Jim Heald, InDyne Inc., recently completed a four year term of service to the Task Force.
About DSI:
One Okaloosa EDC originated the Defense Support Initiatives Committee (DSI) in 1996 to provide a forum dedicated to preserving the Eglin Test and Training Complex and its installations’ contributions to National Defense.  The mission of the DSI is to preserve and promote the local military installations, ranges and missions and their military value consistent with the tri-county communities’ economic goals, and national security.  More information regarding the focus of DSI’s work may be found at www.MilitaryFriendlyNWF.com. 

About One Okaloosa EDC
Founded in 1989, One Okaloosa EDC (One Okaloosa) is a 501(c)(6) non-profit, public-private partnership serving Okaloosa County, Florida and its nine municipalities (Cinco Bayou, Crestview, Destin, Fort Walton Beach, Laurel Hill, Mary Esther, Niceville, Shalimar and Valparaiso).  As the community’s lead economic development organization, One Okaloosa is committed to fostering economic diversification and prosperity through comprehensive strategies and initiatives.   In addition to its public partners, One Okaloosa enjoys broad support from more than 130 leading private sector businesses representing a wide range of industry sectors.  More information is available at www.oneokaloosa.org.

Legal Statement
© 2024, One Okaloosa EDC